Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Issue #19: Winter Happenings

Winter Blues. I’ve been feeling them a lot, as I know many others have. It happens.

So much happens during the winter months, from holidays to winter activities, and even relaxing at home during the coldest of evenings, with a hot cocoa and a book or a good movie.

This winter I’m working on updating the Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy blog. It’s taking up much of my time right now, but will be worth it in the end. Check it out to see what I have done so far.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuckThe holidays were a mix of good and bad for me. Skye and Dominick were here for a visit, as were Zowie, Devan, and Little Man. I had missed them all so much, and they all came for a visit so we could have a celebration at Mom’s. Zowie’s family was not here in time for Yule, but Skye, Dominick, and I went to Katie’s for the feast! So much delicious food, and good company. Skye made fast friends with my great nephew <3, and the girls made us all bracelets.

I had Skye, Dominick, and Zowie’s family over to open gifts, and it was so much fun watching Little Man open his. And later that night, Little Man spent the night with me. Skye came over that evening and he had a grand time coloring and playing with her.

The Christmas party at Mom’s was great as well. I made two cheesecakes.(Yes, I’m aware these are not healthy, but so many people love them!) I invited the bestest, and got to spend time with people I love. Who could ask for anything more?

I cherish these family moments, as they don’t happen often enough with the girls living away.

I worked on Christmas, which I was happy to do since I had Yule off and was able to spend time with family at three events. This does not happen for me every year.

On the flip side, besides all the normal stress, depression, and anxiety I have at the holidays, some mean person decided to compromise my card! Luckily, I had done my gift shopping the day before it happened, but then I was stuck with just the money in my purse and what I got for Christmas money for a one-week period until my new card came in. And then had to wait until the claim went through and my money was put back on my card. It was really great that the mean person paid for three people to have cell phone service over the holidays, because I didn’t have it. (This is sarcasm :-/ )

And I have party neighbors who are loud most of the time, and was not sleeping around that time at all. And I got sick four times. All this from November until mid January, when things finally got back to normal for a bit. It was rough times, for sure.

Now I’m settled in. Working on editing a few manuscripts, trying new recipes, and enjoying old ones I’d like to share with you.

I’ve made both beef stock and vegetable stock, and frozen them to have throughout the remainder of the winter. The vegetable stock is delicious in my homemade chicken soup. This will hopefully help to stop further bouts of illness, or at least lessen them. I also made some honey butter to have on cornbread. I came up with the recipe because the girls and I loved the honey butter at The Chocolate Grille when they were young. And I’ve added some Mix-Ups to the freezer for easy smoothie making when I’m in a hurry.

The blog is sporting some new articles this winter as well, including:

I also tell you on the blog what I do when I’m Too Lazy to Cook My Work Meals. It happens sometimes. (Come on, now. I can’t be the only one!)

My winter is also going to be used to create some new recipes, and to find more affordable ways to buy the food I need. I want to try some new foods. And I need to plan how and when I’ll acquire stockups in case I’m not working as much next winter.

Another good thing that happened this winter was that I got to keep my 40 hours! This has only happened twice since I started working at the front desk of our Inn. I can’t tell you how helpful it is to have that eight hours throughout the winter. I think I’ve only come in below 40 hours twice.

Brightest Blessings!

Shannon

Leave a Reply

