Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015 http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Issue #18: Autumn Harvest

Happy autumn everyone! This is truly my favorite time of year. The air is crisp, the rain sounds different, and the leaves are vibrant. What is not to love?

Now is the time we start cooking more. I made apple butter the other day, and am planning to make pumpkin butter and pumpkin-apple butter. These will all be delicious warmed and poured over Paleo ice cream, and spread on Paleo biscuits or breads this winter. I can’t wait! I’m freezing a couple of each, and using the rest right off.

I’ll also be making chunky applesauce, apple-pear sauce, and apple-peach sauce. All three are absolutely delicious, and you can use any variety of each fruit desired. My cousin even leaves the peel on the apple when she makes her version. Mix things up a bit and try other types of fruit. Let me know about your experiments.

The feature image for this newsletter shows some of the ingredients for my version of a Harvest Salad, made mostly with fresh produce from my parents garden. It was a tasty salad, and I used some to top nachos for a meal variation.

I’m always thankful for anything my parents give me. Unfortunately, their garden didn’t do as well this year. They were still able to give me a few summer squashes, and a winter one.

I love making stuffed squash, which I learned how to do last winter. While my daughter and grandson were visiting last winter, I made a sausage stuffed squash that was to die for. And then I made chili stuffed squash for my friend Jose, who came over to hang shelves for me. Both were meals were a success, and I intend to experiment more with different fillings this fall and winter. These will be posted on the blog.

Speaking of chili, I use some to top cheese fries, and nachos. Yum!

I’d like to leave you with some recipes to try this fall:

4 Meat Chili with Butternut Squash

Autumn Sausage Slow Cooker Meal

Butternut Squash and Carrot Mash

Lettuce-Wrapped Turkey and Sweet Potato

Easy Autumn Soup

Venison Helper

Venison and Vegetable Soup

I’m hoping my stepfather gets a deer this year, so I can make a couple of these recipes again. Wouldn’t that be a treat! Maybe he’d even give me enough to try a couple new recipes.

Happy Autumn Blessings!

Shannon

P.S. Get my eCookBook Main Meal Magic, on sale right now for $1.99.

 
product_thumbnail-php
Main Meal Magic is one of a series of books featured on the Frugal Recipes blog. It takes recipes from 2007 to 2009 and compiles them into one location for my readers, making it easier for them to find the recipes they are looking for.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Issue #18: Autumn Harvest

Leave a Reply

