Photograph taken by Devan Arnold copyright June 2016. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Issue #16: Spring has Sprung

The above photograph is of my grandson. Little Man is almost one! And, as you can see in the photo, he loves blueberries and chocolate. Mind you, this was his first experience with chocolate. I think they are having him try it before he gets his birthday cake. He loves fruits and vegetables, my Little Man, and eats so many healthy foods.

I’ll be visiting them next month to celebrate his birthday. We’ll be having a pool party, complete with barbecue. Can’t wait to see him, his momma and daddy, and his auntie. It’s been a few months since I’ve seen any of them.

Now that spring is here, I’ve not been wanting the heavier foods of winter. Actually, I’ve been quite bored with food as of late, so I’m looking at coming up with some new recipes. Do you ever get bored with making the same set of meals over and over?

Photograph taken by Devan Arnold copyright June 2016. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuckSpring
Spring is weird this year. Even when the sun is shining bright, which hasn’t been all that often lately, the wind seems to blow. Usually hard enough to make writing outside on anything other than the laptop near about impossible. I’m loving the walks, the flowers, and the animals and birds, but all winter I wait just to be able to take paper and pen outside to work. I’ve only managed to do this a couple of times so far. Hopefully that breeze lessens soon.

I love that Aroma Joe’s, up the street from me, has amazing tea! And that I can sit outside on days when there is sun and little wind. I’m really hoping for a day this week when I can enjoy being there while getting some work done outside, Mother Nature willing. They also have delicious oatmeal. Though I’m aware that it is not truly healthy. It makes for a nice treat once in a while.

I’ve been walking when the weather is nice, and have managed a couple of picnics in The Gardens, a beautiful area on the UMaine campus near where I live.

Photograph copyright Shannon L. Buck, May 18, 2016. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuckThe Gardens have so many wonderful trees and flowers, and even a pond near where I like to sit and work. Nothing beats being able to take your shoes and socks off, enjoy a delicious homemade lunch, and drinking a refreshing water, all while working on a writing project.

If only the weather would cooperate with me enough to allow me to do this type of thing on each of my days off. Sigh.

So, I have some news. I’m working on getting these archived articles moved to another platform, and then might change this newsletter to one that goes out by email. I’ll be sure to let you all know when this happens, so you don’t miss an issue. The blog platform I chose will work better for this type of newsletter, being more visually appealing, and the email platform I’ll use for new issues allows me more freedom creatively. I hope you’ll like them.

I had wondered if I should just delete all the old newsletters, but couldn’t bear to when it came down to it. So many memories shared with you all. I’ll be checking for broken links and whatnot when I move them, but will keep the information intact.

P.S. Get my eCookBook Very Frugal Vegetables: Recipes and Uses on sale for only $1.99.

http://www.lulu.com/shop/shannon-l-buck/very-frugal-vegetables-recipes-and-uses/ebook/product-20749324.html

This eCookBook features the numerous vegetable recipes and uses that were featured on the Frugal Recipes blog from 2007 to 2009. There are great ideas for using up excess vegetables, and for creating your own recipes as well.

Leave a Reply

